Skip to main navigation.
Facebook Icon Image

Walter Harrison Scholarship

The Walter Harrison Scholarship program was created in 1985 in memory of Walter Harrison, a Georgia and national rural electric co-op pioneer. The statewide scholarship is funded through donations contributed by EMCs throughout Georgia and pays $1,000 to each winner. Recipients can use the scholarship at any two or four-year accredited university or college (including vocational-technical colleges) in Georgia. 

Each year, Sumter EMC submits the applications of two local finalists to Georgia EMC. Georgia EMC's scholarship committee judges applications from across the state and selects the final winners. Both financial need and academic ability are used in determining winners. To be eligible, a candidate must reside in the household (primary residence) of a Sumter EMC member. 

Contact Whitney Johnson at Sumter EMC, (229) 924-8041, (800) 342-6978, via email at, or click one of the links below to view the 2020 scholarship application and criteria for eligibility:


Walter Harrison Scholarship Application

Applications for 2020 must be submitted to Sumter EMC no later than January 17, 2020. Send your completed application to: Andrea Walker, Sumter EMC, P. O. Box 1048, Americus, GA 31709. Recipients will be announced in May. 

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo